So Many Nominees, Such Great Work

There were two books that were nominated by both the IACP and the James Beard Foundation:

  • Peter Reinhart’s Whole Grain Breads: New Techniques, Extraordinary Flavor, by Peter Reinhart; and
  • Pure Dessert, by Alice Medrich

In addition, the IACP nominated:

  • Local Breads: Sourdough and Whole-Grain Recipes from Europe’s Best Artisan Bakers, by Daniel Leader and Lauren Chattman

And Beard nominated:

  • A Baker’s Odyssey by Greg Patent

Oh, I can’t resist telling you just a little more.  Michael Laiskonis, pastry chef at Le Bernardin in New York, fascinating blogger and last year’s James Beard Outstanding Pastry Chef of the Year, was on hand to announce some of the chef nominees.  This year’s nominees for Pastry Chef of the Year are:

  • Gina DePalma of Babbo, NYC
  • Pichet Ong of P*ONG, NYC
  • Nicole Plue of Redd, Yountville, CA
  • Elisabeth Prueitt and Chad Robertson of Tartine Bakery, San Francisco, CA
  • Mindy Segal of HotChocolate in Chicago, IL

Well, as long as I’ve already done more than I said I would, I’m going to congratulate my bookwriting friends who were nominated (please, please, please, if I’ve forgotten any of you, I’m sorry in advance).  This is in no logical order, just the way they turn up on the sheets I’ve got:

  • Jean Anderson for A Love Affair with Southern Cooking
  • Jacques Pepin for Chez Jacques: Traditions and Rituals of a Cook
  • James Peterson for Cooking
  • Mark Bittman for How to Cook Everything Vegetarian, Quick & Easy Recipes from The New York Times AND his television series, The Best Recipes in the World
  • Anne Willan for The Country Cooking of France
  • Patricia Wells for Vegetable Harvest
  • Molly O’Neill for American Food Writing: An Anthology with Classic Recipes
  • Darra Goldstein for Baking Boot Camp: Five Days of Basic Training at the Culinary Institute of America
  • Elizabeth Falkner for Demolition Desserts
  • Laura Shapiro for Julia Child

Once again, CONGRATULATIONS!!!! 


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *